Skip Navigation LinksReefBase > Global Database
          RSS Feed
Resources - Overview

Region     Country
Search Show Tips

Search Result: 1 records

1 . American Samoa     American Samoa
The Territory of American Samoa consists of 5 volcanic islands and 2 atolls in the central South Pacific Ocean. The islands are small, ranging in size from the heavily populated main island of Tutuila (142 km2 ) to the uninhabited and remote Rose Atoll (less than 1 km2 of land). The volcanic islands are surrounded by fringing reefs, while the atolls have steeply sloping sides, and Rose Atoll has a lagoon. More than 2,700 species of corals, fish, invertebrates, marine plants, turtles and marine mammals are known.
Source: Goldberg, J., K. Adams, J. Albert, J. Asher, P. Brown, V. Brown, D. Burdick, B. Carroll, P. Craig, D. Fenner, C. Fillmed, V. Fread, M. Gawel, A. George, Y. Golbuu, L. Goldman, C. Graham, A. Hall, M. Hasurmai, L. Jacob, D. Jacobson, E. Joseph, J. Kenyon, W. Kostka, T. Leberer, M. Luckymis, E. Lundblad, S. Malakai, J. Maragos, A. Marcus, S. Marino, D. Mathias, J. Mcilwain, J. Miller, D. Minton, M. Nadon, S. Palik, N. Pioppi, L. Raymundo, B. Richards, M. Sabater, R. Schroeder, P. Schupp, E. Smith, T. Zgliczynski and B. Zgliczynski , 2008 , Status of Coral Reef Resources in Micronesia and American Samoa: 2008 . In: Wilkinson, C. (ed.). Status of Coral Reefs of the World: 2008. Global Coral Reef Monitoring Network and Reef and Rainforest Research Center, Townsville, Australia. p199-212. (See Document)

Side Bar